Book Review: Looking for Alaska

Hi Readers,

It’s californiangirl again. This post is a book review on the AMAZING book, Looking for Alaska by John Green.

Summary: 

Looking for Alaska is about a teenage boy, Miles, who is obesessed with last words, seeking for adventure. He decides to leave his eventless life in Florida to transfer to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of eventless. Because just down the hall is the funny, smart, and screwed up Alaska Young. Alaska pulls Miles into her world, and pulls her into his heart.

Overall Review:

On the californiangirl scale of 1-30 (1 being, “I didn’t even finish it, it sucked that bad” 15 being, “meh, pretty good” and 30 being “OMG, I LOVED that book, I’m going to reread it again (and again, and again)), I give Looking for Alaska a 26.

Generall age guideline: Ages 13+

Review: 

Looking for Alaska was a great book. I heard from a couple of my friends that it would be a book worth reading, and so I started reading it. I’m so glad that I read it. It was a great story that was woven with humor, love, and loss, all in wonderful description and emotion. I’ll admit, I like The Fault in our Stars a little bit better, but in general I’m a huge fan of John Green, so I loved them both A LOT!

Miles “Pudge” Halter: I really liked how the story was told through Pudge’s point of view rather than Alaska because it really helped so the impact Alaska had on other’s lives. Pudge’s charming, awkward, and fresh voice helped me understand the book so much better and made the book an overall better read.

Alaska Young: Alaska was just the right character to constrast the quiet, awkward Pudge. She was spontaneous, witty, and edgy.

Takeaway: Overall, it was a great book that I couldn’t put down. Please read it if you love YA realistic fiction.

californiangirl signing off,

xoxo,

 

californiangirl

http://www.justacaliforniangirl.wordpress.com

 

One Reply to “Book Review: Looking for Alaska”

Leave a Reply

