Top Seven Tips for Healthy Skin

Dear Readers,

It’s Saturday which means…. Top Seven Saturday is back! Did you miss these? I’m sorry I just haven’t been active recently. Life has just been crazy in the past week! I’ll try to post as soon as possible every week, but please be patient if I don’t post as often as I really should! So for today I’m going to tell you some tips about keeping your biggest organ healthy and clean! Yep, skin is an organ (bet most of you didn’t know that)! I’ve struggled with acne and oily skin a lot in the best and learned a couple of things throughout my skin journey that I’d be happy to share with you! Here are the best tips to have healthy and clear skin!

1. Stay Hydrated

Staying hydrated is extremely important if you want clear skin. I’ve been searching Pinterest a lot and have found a lot of detox waters. Here is one of my favorites!

fat-flush-detox-water-1024x768

This is SUPER easy! I usually just put this in my water bottle and bring it to school or for a workout! All you need is some water, mint leafs, cucumber, and sliced up lemon. This is extremely easy and relaxing. I know that plain water is kind of boring so this is a great way to put a spin on it! There are plenty other awesome detox water recipes out there so find one that you love!

2. Sleep 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I know that this is way easier said than done, but try to get at least eight hours of sleep. I know that at least I usually don’t sleep 8 hours each night because I’m up doing homework, but now I’ve been making it a habit to go to bed early and not being on my phone while I should be doing homework so I can get things done faster. Sleep helps restore your skin and fight off blemishes and redness.

3. Wash your face (with the right stuff)

You must wash your face. There’s no way you will have healthy, clear skin if all that nasty dirt ‘n’ grime is sitting in an oily layer on your skin. Take this awesome quiz I saw from Teen Vogue to find out what cleanser is best for you!

 4. Moisturize

Another key thing you need to do is moisturize! Here are some quick facts that will make you definitely want to start moisturizing more! -You develop more and deeper wrinkles when you don’t moisturize   -it makes your skin flakey and dull if you don’t slather on daily moisturizer  -if you don’t moisturize, your acne gets worse  -your skin will be itchy all the time

p1aa67453905482844ffe5ef025dfe97ff25c2f67

Okay, now that I’ve scared you enough I hope you remember to moisturize daily. If you have oily skin, definitely use a light, oil-free moisturizer!

5. Treat your skin with a mask once a week

Unknown

I never used a facial mask till very recently. I was under the impression that masks were too heavy and exfoliating for my sensitive skin. However, as long as you find the right mask, it’s all good! I love all the ones from Lush, but my personal favorite is Cupcake (see my review here)! I definitely recommend Cupcake for oily acne prone skin.

6. Steer away from oily and sugary foods

Even though I’ve heard some doctors tell me that diet won’t affect your skin, my personal experiences tell otherwise. Try to stay away from oily/fatty foods and super sugary foods. What helps me is eating a lot of fruits as oppose to candy/sugar! They are a delicious substitute to dessert!

7. Never go to sleep with make-up on

hre5.jpg

Makeup is terrible for sleeping a whole night in. It builds up dirt and chemicals and it just feels icky having a layer of grime from the day on your face. I suggest always carrying makeup removing wipes and to deep wash your face every night before you hit the sack!

 

Okay and that’s it! I hope you enjoyed this post. And I also hope that I see you next time on my blog!

 

californiangirl signing off,

 

xoxo,

californiangirl

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top Seven Tips for Healthy Skin

  1. Awesome post!! I don’t wear makeup that often but I definitely try to stay hydrated and wash my face twice a day. I hope you are having a lovely day!! I’ve been so busy I have only managed to put up my September Favourites post!
    Speak to you soon,
    Lauren ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

