Dance Spring Show!//my experience

Dear Readers

this weekend was the show! The spring performance of my dance studio! It was an interesting but rewarding experience. Let’s get into the post!

 

tech rehearsal–the warm up

tech rehearsal is basically when we run all our dances in our regular dance clothes, not costumes, makeup, and hair. This is so we get used to the stage and marking formations. This year at tech, we went to get boba tea before to get a pre-snack and to give us a boost, since it would, no doubt be a long night.

unnamed-2.jpg
BTW: edited on VSCO! I love VSCO soooooo much!

So after getting our boba, we left to the theater, with our bags full of pointe shoes and yoga blocks. i was pretty worried about this years show since I was in a total of 8 pieces. This meant I had A TON of “quick changes” meaning you only have one dance number (about 2-3 minutes) to change your shoes, costume, hair, and sometimes makeup! Yeah, I know, that alone pretty much finished me for the night. Luckily for tech, all i and to change was the shoes. Tech ran smoothly and long. By the time we left, it was 10 PM (and still a school night for most of us). I still had homework and was exhausted from almost 5 hours of dancing. I crashed as soon as I got home.

dress rehearsal–the disaster

Dress Rehearsal, basically the show but with no one in the audience. I show up to the theater in full hair (a high well gelled ballet bun) and makeup (thick show makeup). I was scared since today was the first time trying out my “quick changes” as well as the day they took pictures. we took class to warm up, then the night began. It started out fine, except my turns weren’t on spot. But, they were still better than what was about to come. So I went through my quick changes, barely making them, covered in a  layer of sweat. Part 1 was over so it was on to the next part. Then, I made my mistake. Instead of practicing my dance (a really hard adv ballet piece that I was the youngest in), I decided just to chill out and relax, as I was pretty tired. WORST MISTAKE EVER

I ended up forgetting that dance (on stage) as well as slipping and falling on my butt during it. and yes, all the way DOWN

ballet___falling_to_death_13_by_gracies_stock
and yes it was pretty much this bad (even though that’s obviously not me)

Yay! icing on that disaster cake was when I talked to my teacher (more like desperately apologized to him). He didn’t seem that happy with my performance. The rest of the night (kind of) made up for that huge disaster cake, as I did really well in my last 2 pieces of the night. I left the theater excited, but mostly nervous for the next day. showtime

show no. 1–recovery

I walked into the theater with a vision of performing perfectly that night. I was running late so I grabbed my ballet shoes and began to run to the stage, where warm up was. I sighed as we began ballet class, relaxing into the familiar movements and music. However, I still had a layer of nervousness wrapping around my mind as I remembered the mess ups of last night. AFter class, I changed into my costume and took some cute pictures (with my Polaroid of course). before we knew it, it was time for the show to begin. the curtains rolled open and the stage lights lit up the  stage. The first dances went well, I still wasn’t quite happy with my turns but they weren’t that bad. My quick changes were hard to get through again, but I made them. i did do a major-ish mess up in my last ballet dance of part 1 but I covered it up as best as I could.

Part 2 now began. I changed into my sparkly gold costume and did exactly what i didn’t do the day before. I practiced, and practiced, and practiced. Did I mention that I practiced? The dance went WAY better than the day before. I actually did pretty good. The accomplishment of that made me get through the whole night. I took a couple more pictures and then went out to greet my family, and friends.  1 show down, 1 more to go.

show no. 2-a goodbye

This show was not bad but I feel like it was a little worst than before. Nevertheless, I still felt happy with my performance in general. However it was also a day of goodbye. We had to say goodbye to three seniors and another girl moving to an arts boarding school in Michigan. We were also saying goodbye to all of our dances we’ve been working on since February, and the 2016-17 team.  I have to say at the last bow I was tearing up a little (actually a lot). I will miss everyone and hope they always come back to visit.

 

This show week ended on a bittersweet note however I never wanted it to end. I hope you enjoyed my post!

 

xoxo,

californiangirl

Leave a Reply

